Egg Whites & Oats Muffins

https://www.instagram.com/p/YYJhRLpXLV

So, anyone who follows me or knows my clean-eating-style knows that I’m all about ease and convenience – the simpler the better. Honestly, a recipe with more than 6 ingredients kind of scares me. That being said, a classic clean breakfast is the “egg whites and oatmeal” combo. Since I started eating this meal at work a couple of months ago, I started thinking that I wanted to come up with a way to transport it more easily (for a little while, and sometimes still, I would bring my uncooked oats, some egg whites in a container to cook at work – eggy oats…that’s for another post – my fruit, nut butter or whatever else I felt like topping my oatmeal with….yeahhh, lots to pack and bring!). So then on one Sunday food prep afternoon, I thought…”why not just bake this into muffins?” (for those of you who aren’t aware, I’m ob-sessed with muffin-izing things). Thus, these Egg Whites & Oats Muffins were born.

Ingredients (makes 12 muffins):

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Mix oat flour, baking powder and cinnamon together.
  • Mix egg whites in.
  • Divide batter into 12 non-stick sprayed muffin tins.
  • Bake for 20 minutes then remove and let cool.

Yep….that’s IT! Fair warning, as I mentioned in my original Instagram post (linked by the picture above) – I’m currently trying to stay away from artificial sweeteners if possible so these are UNSWEETENED. But you could add a sweetener or maybe some fruit (blueberries, banana, strawberries, etc.) and/or do like me and top with your favorite nut butter…everything is always better with a little peanut or almond butter on top! In my world at least.

Here’s how I had my egg whites and oats muffins this morning – topped with 2 tablespoons of reconstituted PB2 (powdered peanut butter – learn more here!) with 1/2 tablespoon of chia seeds mixed in and a side of sliced strawberries. So convenient and satisfying!

https://www.instagram.com/p/Y-thpYpXP0

4 thoughts on “Egg Whites & Oats Muffins

  1. I’m so excited about all your portable meal tips since I’ll be a grown-up working girl this summer and always running late! 😉

  2. Pingback: Paleo Coconut Muffins | Natalie's Lifestyle

  3. Pingback: Prune and walnut whole-wheat/oat muffins = failure muffins | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a comment