Sweet Potato Protein Muffins

So, one thing you guys will learn about me is that I like to keep things simple when it comes to eating. I’ve found that this works best for me. Moving to NYC this past August (after selling our cars back in Texas) made grocery shopping a bit of a challenge. Luckily though, a few months ago, a couple of girlfriends introduced me to Fresh Direct, online grocery shopping that’s delivered right to your door! Definitely makes for easier grocery shopping in the city and besides a few things here and there, I do most of my grocery shopping through Fresh Direct.

Honestly, recipes with a ton of ingredients cause a bit of anxiety for me. I start thinking…”How much of that ingredient do I need now?”…”Where am I going to store all of this stuff?”…”How long will that ingredient last?” You see…our kitchen is a little…limited.

Kitchen

It definitely causes some difficulties and requires some clever maneuvering on my part, but I make things work. No excuses!

Anywho, back to the reason why I introduced you to the fact that I favor simplicity in the kitchen:

Sweet Potato Protein Muffins Recipe

I first tried this recipe out as a pancakes recipe a few weeks ago and they were delicious and a perfect post workout meal! Another thing I favor along with simplicity is convenience. I am a little obsessed with making my foods into muffins right now. Cases in point – egg white muffins and egg white and oat muffins. Having my foods perfectly pre-portioned out and ready for me to heat and eat (rather than weigh out, heat and eat) just makes things so.much.easier. So, naturally, had to turn these pancakes into muffins.

Ingredients

(makes 22 muffins)

  • 16 ounces cooked sweet potato (I baked mine whole, pierced several times with a fork, at 400 degrees for 45 minutes and then peeled and let cool.)
  • 4 scoops vanilla whey protein (I use Dymatize Iso-100)
  • 2 cups liquid egg whites
  • 1 cup spinach (packed)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and then throw everything into a blender.

Blender

Spray your muffin tins with a non stick spray and pour away. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove. Top with your favorite nut butter. Enjoy.

Individual Muffin

Macros (will vary based on type of protein powder used):

MFP Macros

7 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Protein Muffins

    • Ooh, probably a good detail I should have included! I baked my sweet potatoes whole at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. After that, the skin easily peeled right off and I let cool before blending with the other ingredients!

  1. Thanks for the recipe just made these tuesday wow so delish ! How do you store them and how long do they keep?

    • Great!!! So glad you liked them! I would say about a week in the fridge in an airtight container…or freeze if you want to save some extras for later!

Leave a Reply

